skip to content

Centre of Latin American Studies


Visiting Scholars 2023-4

Mariana di Bello (April - December 2023)

I am an Argentinian sociologist interested in the varied shapes and scopes that science-society interactions can adopt. My main career goal is helping to clarify and promote new ways that scientific knowledge can have a social and sustainable impact in peripheral countries. I  received my doctoral degree from Buenos Aires University in 2013 and since 2015 have worked as a researcher at the National Scientific and Technical Research Council in Argentina. I have carried out research on several interrelated themes: scientific knowledge production processes oriented towards social problems; science and technology policies in Argentina; university-environment relationships; knowledge and expertise of civic society and their relations to the public agenda. Since 2008 I have worked as Teaching Assistant at the Sociology Department, National University of La Plata.

Benjamin Garcia Paez (October 2023 - July 2024)

Dr Benjamin Garcia Paez is Professor of Economics at the Faculty of Economics, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). His research fields include Financing of the Economic Development Process, Industrialization, Re-Industrialization Strategies, Productivity, Industrial Policy, and Natural Resources Economics. He has published on the Economics of Growth and Development in a range of international journals. In his academic career, he has been awarded with the UNAM prize, and the recognition of Prometheus Researcher in Ecuador and Professor Honoris Causa for the University of Piura-Peru. He has held visiting appointments at the University of Grenoble-France, University of Kent at Canterbury and the University of Cambridge where recently he was elected to serve as Visiting Fellow of Clare Hall. At present, he is working in a research project on Manufacturing Productivity and Industrial Policy in Mexico, 1990-2022, as a part of an Industrial Economics research network and will be visiting the Centre of Latin-American Studies until July 31, 2024.